March 18, 2009
-
3.18/2009
After beating Resident Evil 5 and its Mercenaries Mode, I have to conclude that the game is a lot of fun, but it seems to fall short of the standards of its previous installment. It doesn't seem to innovate and falls short in terms of length of play, a tense environment, reward for experimentation, and depth of story (even despite the fact that current Resident Evil games aren't well-known for having the greatest stories in the world). In all honesty, it feels like a shorter, co-op Resident Evil game with less features. My question is this: Why do I hardly ever feel satisfied with game sequels? Furthermore... am I spoiled in terms of video-games? Nearly every sequel I've played was either a huge disappointment (i.e. Super Smash Bros. Brawl, Gears of War 2, Halo 3 [multiplayer], Burnout Paradise, [didn't appreciate an open-ended Burnout game], Ninja Gaiden 2) or seems to fall short in some respect (Street Fighter 4, Rock Band 2, Resident Evil 5). I guess the reason for my disappointment lies in the fact that every previous installment either was a huge innovation in their respective genre, or that they offered more depth than before. Perhaps developers realize they can be lazy and still have incredible sales. So, from their perspective, why try?
Then again... maybe I just have high standards?
I read an article today on CNN about the Pope's visit to Africa. Apparently he reaffirmed the ban on condom usage... in light of the large AIDS epidemic. I don't understand it... How could you turn a blind eye to people becoming infected and dying at at high rate? I understand what the Catholic doctrine says, but, how is this decision, in spite of the current AIDS crisis, the moral-ethical thing to do?
What would Jesus have done?

Recent Comments